No Flavor Saison Questions

Dornbox

Premium Member
Reaction score
Introduction and Question / Advice:

Hello all. I've been brewing off and on for a little over 25 years with periods of high activity (weekly / bi weekly brew sessions for a year or two) followed by children 10 years ago. So now I'm back and for my first attempts I dusted off an old favorite "Farmhouse" recipe from my brew logs. Brewing went off without a hitch except that my target mash temp never got above 148deg which historically I shot for 140 rest and a 155 rest. After 3 weeks in the fermenter and a final gravity of 1.001 I kegged it and have had it sitting on 27psi @ around 58deg for close to 3 days. I also did a little shaky shaky at 30 psi when first kegged. While I think it can use a little more time under pressure, it's not flat. My question or problem, this beer is bland! Bland like bud select with a little more hops. The only changes from my past brews where Yeast strain (originally I used WY3726 switched to WY3711), 75% reduction of German Munich specialty malt from 1 lb to 1/4" and an increased boil time from 1 hr to 1.5 hours, and water profile. I have no idea what my old water profile was but I do know my current well water is very soft. I added a little gyp and a tiny amount of calcium chloride. to come close to the BF Light hoppy water profile. Actual SO4 levels are unknow and my water profile is 3 years old but Maine is known for soft water. Anyway, any ideas why the flavor profile could be so flat? I have since brewed 2 more batches (both currently in fermenters ) with small tweaks but all using the same WY3711 yeast which is the only thing I can point at since I get very very very little Belgian / Whoolan ester and phenol taste. Originally it did have a slight banana to the nose but I think that has given way to the late hops aroma. Now I'm left with a slightly bitter and fizzy hop water. Thanks in advance!