New Homebrewer

Black Clover

Premium Member
Established Member
Reaction score
Howdy everyone!
As the title says, I am new to homebrewing personally, though I have helped my dad in the past when he homebrewed. I am currently a college student about to graduate, so my living arrangements (and lack of disposable income) have prevented me from diving into this exciting hobby hands-on. So in the meantime, I have been spending time reading and educating myself about homebrewing as a way to prepare for when I do start. I currently intern at a local brewery and maintain their database, but when I can, I help out in the brewhouse and learn from the headbrewer there. I've been using Brewer's Friend as a way to create some recipes and familiarize myself with ingredients and beer styles, so for the most part, my recipes work on paper, but it is to be determined if they work in practice.

I hope to eventually start and share my experiences with you all once I'm settled down with a job and a place of my own.

If you have any recommendations as to what I should read and learn more of, please feel free to share as I want to continue to learn and understand the hobby. I know experience is the best teacher, but that will be the next step of this journey.

Best,
Black Clover

Last edited:
Welcome!
Sounds like you will start your first steps in this hobby with tons more knowledge than me :D
Maybe look at biab brewing and you can do small batches with very little equipment.
Just a pot and a stove, and your ingredients, a brew-bag, bucket fermenter and some pet bottles is all you need to get going.
OK and a thermometer

Welcome!
Sounds like you will start your first steps in this hobby with tons more knowledge than me :D
Maybe look at biab brewing and you can do small batches with very little equipment.
Just a pot and a stove, and your ingredients, a brew-bag, bucket fermenter and some pet bottles is all you need to get going.
OK and a thermometer