New guy from St Paul

The Gonz

Trial Member
Reaction score
Good evening all!

New guy here, finally getting with the times and jumping on a forum/brewing site. I started brewing back in the late 90's and enjoyed the hobby off/on over the years. Was never crazy serious about it, although I do have bragging rights of several county fair blue ribbons :D. Got busy with life and such and haven't brewed in probably 4 years now, finally decided to jump back into it. My partner and I love visiting breweries and enjoy beer, she even created a spreadsheet listing all MN and WI tap rooms that we know of and whether or not we've been there. We have a fantasy of opening our own brewery/tap room some day, although the reality of that is to be determined.

I'm very excited about upping my game with brewing, from what I gather the technology and equipment has come a long ways from where I used to be. What's even better is I live less than a mile from Northern Brewer in St Paul, so I have the brewing world at my door!

Just jumped back into the game with a Coconut Milkshake IPA, which will be my first wild card beer I've ever brewed, I always just stuck to the classics in the past. It's busy bubbling away as I type!

Thanks to all the contributors and regulars, I already appreciate your wisdom.

ps - is there a tutorial on how to follow along with others' recipes? Such as how to decipher boil time, when we're adding things, etc.? I'd rather not reinvent the wheel as I start searching for our next beer and using one of the recipes on here.

Welcome to the forum! When I copy someone else's recipe I always edit the recipe and scale to my batch size and my efficiency. Then I substitute ingredients to what I can get from Northern Brewer. Other than that I leave the recipe as-is.

Welcome!
Have a look at the quarterly brew.
It's where some of us brew the same beer, discuss alternative ingredients etc to make it fit the ingredients you can get and your equipment