New brewer...

JS

Trial Member
Reaction score
I started brewing in early 2014 with a brewing lesson from a friend. My first solo batch was in my kitchen and I soon built a sculpture to boil out in the driveway. After about a year of being outside I designed a brew kitchen in my basement and upgraded to a 20 gal 240v electric Blichmann G2. I also grew wary of of the 70 qt cooler as a mash tun so I upgraded to a 20 gal SS Brew Tech mash tun. At some point I used unistrut to build a 3 tier brewing sculpture with retractable casters (my brew kitchen is a laundry room as well).

At 4 going on 5 years I am still in my infancy of brewing. I've only had one undrinkable batch to date and that was due to using Jalapeno powder in an IPA. It was horrid but a valuable learning lesson. I have covered the spectrum of beers, I truly love the craft. I have 7 taps and host a summer party each year for around 40 friends, it's great to have people who truly enjoy the beer. Everyone goes home with a full growler.

I ferment everything but lager in an insulated closet with a thermostat connected to a heater (or ac) depending upon the time of year. For lagers I use a freezer with a temp controller. For the annual party I do a Friday/Saturday/Sunday brew evolution and ferment everything at once. Thankfully I've taken on five friends as brew buddies who come over for brew days. I really enjoy teaching the craft and sharing the enjoyment with friends. They enjoy the beer. And the hard cider.