Native Australian bees

GFHomebrew

Premium Member
Established Member
Reaction score
gday all as I wasn't brewing this last weekend I was devoting my hard earned free time to one of my other hobbies keeping Australian Native singles bees. I have been awaiting this moment for over two years and building the new hive I ended up transferring some brood into on the weekend. I just thought you all may be interested

Photo one is of the parent colony that oval shaped cell structure is the brood.
Photo two the separated brood at home in its new home.
Photo three some of the sugar bag honey relevant term for the pods they stoor their honey in opposed to European bees. They produce a measly.500ml per year honey.
Photo 4 is their new hive positioned in old hives spot.

Well I hope you feel enlightened :p. Cheers!

Attachments

• image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    906.5 KB · Views: 212
  • image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    515.9 KB · Views: 221
  • image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    651 KB · Views: 219
  • image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    540.5 KB · Views: 207
Good for you!! Bees are very important to life as we know it and any help they can get is good help.

yes big misconception, Bees, non poisonous snakes, bats all part of the ecosystem that most people just don't get

Yea my trade is in pest control so I guess I'm giving some back :p

And unlike almost everything else in Australia our bees have no stingers , completely harmless !

we had a large hive in a camp i worked on and some fool asked a pest controller to kill them , he wouldn't so they got someone who would

And unlike almost everything else in Australia our bees have no stingers , completely harmless !

we had a large hive in a camp i worked on and some fool asked a pest controller to kill them , he wouldn't so they got someone who would