Mash water units

Discussion in 'Recipe Editor' started by uk_brewer, Oct 8, 2019.

  1. uk_brewer

    uk_brewer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    396
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    West Dundee, IL
    Am I missing something? I have metric units set but the mash water units only give the option of quarts and gallons . CCBB300F-5124-4487-9433-68130AD12A9C.png
     
  2. Yooper

    Yooper Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    2,494
    Likes Received:
    1,582
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Happily retired
    Location:
    Upper Michigan/Florida
    If you look to the right of the dropdown that says "gallons" (it's partially covered in your screenshot), it says that the choice is only for non-metric brewers. Those who chose metric in their profile will not have a choice- it will always be liters.
     
  3. Pricelessbrewing

    Pricelessbrewing QA Software Tester
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    766
    Likes Received:
    503
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Gender:
    Male
    If the drop-down only applies to non-metric, then perhaps don't display the drop-down when it's not applicable, or have the value change to liters when user chooses metric units and have the div disabled so it's display only and cannot be interacted with.
     
    Yooper, BOB357 and thunderwagn like this.
  4. uk_brewer

    uk_brewer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    396
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    West Dundee, IL
    Wouldn’t it make sense to have a metric option when all other units being used are metric?
     
    Trialben, BOB357 and thunderwagn like this.
  5. Craigerrr

    Craigerrr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    4,701
    Likes Received:
    6,904
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I see no reason why every value be it weight, volume, temperature, pressure couldn't be toggled. Simple math, heck I have an app for that on my phone. I use it numerous times every day, it was free too!
     
    thunderwagn and uk_brewer like this.
  6. thunderwagn

    thunderwagn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    3,751
    Likes Received:
    7,309
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Loveland, CO
    It's just another example of lack of any real beta testing and attention to detail. More time and energy went into focusing on a new group that doesn't even exist or will be in minimal existence. I can't fire anyone so I'll just withhold payment instead.
     
    J A likes this.
  7. Nosybear

    Nosybear Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    9,418
    Likes Received:
    6,671
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Aurora, CO, USA
    That's the beauty of paid internet vs. ad-supported. Here, we're the customer. Ad-supported, we're the product. Me, no payment to withhold.
     
  8. Yooper

    Yooper Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    2,494
    Likes Received:
    1,582
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Happily retired
    Location:
    Upper Michigan/Florida
    Yes, that's absolutely true. It's just never come up before. I think this needs to be changed, and I'll put a ticket in for that right away. Thank you.
     
    Trialben and Pricelessbrewing like this.

Share This Page

arrow_white