Mash pH Issues

Discussion in 'Brewer's Friend Announcements & Updates' started by Nosybear, Jan 17, 2019.

  1. Nosybear

    Nosybear Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    7,646
    Likes Received:
    4,393
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Aurora, CO, USA
    Was putting together a recipe last night for the homebrew club and unfortunately in the presence of several potential users, ran into quite an interesting problem. As I was building the recipe, I saw I needed to reduce the mash pH from 5.61 to the target range of 5.4. So I added acidulated malt and the predicted pH went UP to 8.64. Hmmm.... Took the acidulated malt out, then added in lactic acid. The water calculator gave me what looked to be the correct amount but then again predicted the pH to be 8.64. Given the results I was getting for the amount of lactic acid, I'm assuming it gave me the correct amount of acid to add but it is displaying the wrong pH.
     
  2. ACBEV

    ACBEV Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    100
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Berkshire - UK
    I've been experiencing oddities with PH values too... I can't remember exactly the PH value, but it was 4. something, which didn't look right. I was expecting something like 5.3 to 5.6, so I removed 50ml of CRS/AMS and the PH didn't move at all! But then I added a kilo of pale ale malt and the PH went up to 5.06, which didn't seem right either.
     
  3. Yooper

    Yooper Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes Received:
    1,016
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Happily retired
    Location:
    Upper Michigan/Florida
    I'll put in a ticket right away for this. In the meantime if you could recreate the issue, and add a few screenshots here, that would be very helpful in finding the problem so it could be more easily fixed we'd appreciate it!
     
  4. Nosybear

    Nosybear Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    7,646
    Likes Received:
    4,393
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Aurora, CO, USA
    Will see what I can do this evening when I get home.... Actually, never mind. It seems to be working correctly now - with the acid additions it's showing pH 5.4, as it should. I did some fidgeting around with the acid additions and acidulated in the water calculator and everything seemed to function as expected.
     
  5. ACBEV

    ACBEV Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    100
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Berkshire - UK
    o_O Seems fine here too, now. @Yooper Perhaps you should cancel that ticket... ;)
     
  6. nununene

    nununene New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    While your at it can you check why the mash pH in water calculator is different than the mash pH in recipe. It's not that far off but it is off.
    I have a recipe where I'm using a carbon filter on my tap and I had it analyzed and entered that as source then I took light and hoppy as target. I added salts and acid and everything looked about right, all green stars, 2.1 so4/ca, and 5.47 pH. but recipe shows pH at 5.35.
     
  7. Yooper

    Yooper Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes Received:
    1,016
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Happily retired
    Location:
    Upper Michigan/Florida
    When that happens, it may be because when you go back to the recipe, if "update recipe" is not clicked (the one by the water calc link), it will show incorrectly. Could that be an issue?
     
  8. nununene

    nununene New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I have updated the recipe and edited the water calculations from the recipe and then updated and it's still slightly different.
     
  9. Yooper

    Yooper Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes Received:
    1,016
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Happily retired
    Location:
    Upper Michigan/Florida
    Which recipe is this in? I'd like to take a look.
     
  10. nununene

    nununene New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    it is one I created for an experiment on my water. I just shared it and it's called SMASHED fly IPA light.
     
  11. nununene

    nununene New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Oh yeah, I know the water calc update recipe button worked because the salts and acid additions were correct.
     
  12. nununene

    nununene New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
  13. Yooper

    Yooper Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes Received:
    1,016
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Happily retired
    Location:
    Upper Michigan/Florida
    I see that the recipe says 5.35 in the recipe, and the water calc gives 5.35. So I thought this had been resolved. Is it still a problem in other recipes?
     
  14. Nosybear

    Nosybear Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    7,646
    Likes Received:
    4,393
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Aurora, CO, USA
    It's working for me now.
     
  15. nununene

    nununene New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I checked it tonight and when I opened the calculator it had 5.35 for mash pH. but it had total water volume of 9 gallons. I'm conditioning 12 gallons to take into account losses and when I enter 12 gallons for total water volume the mash pH changes to 5.47. Does the recipe only take into account the volume of water in the mash and sparge for the pH? I'm adding salts and acid to all 12 gallons and then using 9 for mash and sparge. I do wonder why the total water volume changes when you save and exit calculator ten update recipe and return to calculator.
     
  16. Craigerrr

    Craigerrr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    2,014
    Likes Received:
    2,125
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I have found that if you make changes to water volumes in the recipe, you need to update the volumes in the calculator as well
     
  17. nununene

    nununene New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Thanks, that was it. I added 3 gal to sparge in recipe as loss left in HLT and that fixed it. Now it matches the calculator in every respect.
     
    Yooper likes this.
  18. Craigerrr

    Craigerrr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    2,014
    Likes Received:
    2,125
    Trophy Points:
    113
    FTW!
    (for the win)
     

Share This Page

arrow_white