Maltbill, hop-schedule and mash presets

Discussion in 'Feature Requests' started by GunnarH, Jul 27, 2012.

  1. GunnarH

    GunnarH New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Norway
    Would be nice to be able to save maltbill, hop-schedule, mash shedule etc independently as presets/templates.
     
  2. LarryBrewer

    LarryBrewer Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,728
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    Interesting idea, sort of like importing a portion of another recipe. I can see how that would save time.

    Just throwing out some ideas here:

    1. Should the presets be just for you, or made public?
    2. The easiest thing I can think of is to have an import dialog box that lets you pull up an existing recipe (yours or public), and from there you can choose with checkboxes what aspects of that recipe you want to import (fermentables, hops, mash, water profile, other ingredients).
     
  3. DrPaulsen

    DrPaulsen New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I second this request. I almost always use the exact same "other ingredients" and "mash schedule" for my beers. While it doesn't take that long to load them in by hand, it would be nice to skip a few steps and to also reduce the opportunity for omission. I spend more time error checking my recipes than I'd like due to the manual nature of loading in these ingredients.

    I'd like to see something like a "Load Default" button available when a new recipe is created. The form values could be pulled from a "default recipe" settings tab found within the profile page. I have no opinions about whether or not my default recipe settings would be made public or not.
     
  4. LarryBrewer

    LarryBrewer Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,728
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    Here is the work around for now - create a 'default recipe' in your account, with defaults only, and copy that recipe when you go to start a new recipe. The limitation there is, you have to have at least one fermentable, so you could just enter a dummy row there to satisfy the validation rules.
     
  5. DrPaulsen

    DrPaulsen New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Good idea - thanks!
     
  6. DrPaulsen

    DrPaulsen New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Per Larry's suggestion, I built a "default" recipe template. That did exactly what I was looking for. I'm no longer concerned about having a stored "default" in the profile section.
     
  7. LarryBrewer

    LarryBrewer Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,728
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    I'm thinking either update the copy feature so you can check which parts you want to copy, and/or build an import feature to the recipe editor so you could pull in part of another recipe.

    Still you'll want to setup your 'default' recipe to pull from.
     
  8. Kaiser

    Kaiser Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I like that idea. Mostly b/c it's very flexible.

    Now we can all brew true Frankenbeers by taking parts of other recipes :)

    Larry, if possible the copy feature could work to only copy things that are specified in the recipe that's imported. That way users could easily create template "recipes" and don't have to worry about clicking checkboxes.

    Kai
     
  9. LarryBrewer

    LarryBrewer Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,728
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    In that case we could also look into relaxing the requirement that at least one fermentable is required on a recipe?

    You're not going anywhere without sugar! :geek: Seems like that doesn't hold true anymore with the idea of a template recipe.
     
  10. Kaiser

    Kaiser Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    maybe recipes can be "recipes" or "templates". That would also make organizing them easier. BF could then release a number of public templates to cover various mash schedules.

    Kai
     

Share This Page

arrow_white