Okay so ive never used lactose or dme before, I'm also only 3 batches into all grain brewing so just getting my feet wet in many respects. I went to my brew shop and picked up a bunch of stuff for a wheat beer and a sweet stout which included lactose. I had some dme that I bought before that wasnt used and it wasn't marked. The lactose was marked from the brew store so I figured I was good. But here's the issue, they both look and taste the same. I havent started my stout yet and now wonder if it is lactose or not. What difference in look and flavor should they have from each other? It's going to cheese me off something bad if I add dme in place of the lactose. I took a bit of both and put them in water and darn it if they don't look and taste the same. They both have a orange/Brown color and in the bag they both look cream colored.