IPA cleared, then got active again

EvanAltman36

Trial Member
Reaction score
Total noob here, and I've got a question that I can't seem to find an answer to. Brewed a 2.5 gallon batch of IPA a little over 2 weeks ago, 1/21 to be exact. Had some really active fermentation for a few days and then it began to clear pretty nicely. However, on 2/2 (nearly 2 weeks in fermenter), the yeast started getting really active again and I got another foam head of bout 1/4" to 1/2". It's a partial extract batch (was shooting for DIPA but came up short on OG so it'll probably be closer to standard IPA) and has quite a bit of malt for a 2.5 G volume. I was allowing some bottles to carb in the same closet (68-70 F) so is it possible that the yeast kind of settled into the trub and that when I moved the carboy a bit to move my bottles, it "woke up" the yeast? It stayed pretty active until this morning, when the foam head had all but disappeared again. I'm totally fine sticking with the "when it's ready, it's ready," but I've just not experiences such a dramatic reactivation of yeast after a couple weeks. Again, noob.

Yeah, you probably stirred up the yeast. Smell and taste before bottling to make sure it wasn't some wild bacteria. I bet you are fine.

Thanks, I appreciate the input. And you confirmed my suspicions, so I like thinking that I was right. Are there drawbacks to pitching too much yeast and could that have been an issue?

Moving a fermenter or raising the temperature will cause CO2 to come out of solution creating airlock activity and may look like a second fermentation. This doesn't explain new krausen formation. I would certainly taste it in case of infection.

"I would certainly taste it in case of infection".

Yes tasting is just one of those things brewers must do to ensure a quality product. :D