Introduction and a BJCP Pole

BJCP Style Guidelines

• I follow a different set of guidelines for making existing beer styles.

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • I follow them, but I think they need to change.

• I don't follow the BJCP style guidelines and I don't like them.

• What's the BJCP?

• Total voters

Tylor Miranda

Trial Member
Reaction score
Hello. My name is Tylor Miranda, but you can call me Ty. I am new to brewing, but I have attended a one-on-one brew day with a local brewery. It was a lot of work, and very fun.

Every since then, I have wanted to brew beer at home. Honestly, being a brewer wouldn't be so bad either, but I have some disabilities that would keep me from doing that job.

Right now I'm studying a lot and saving for a brewing system. I'm formulating recipes based on my knowledge in the food and drink industries. The way I formulate recipes is:

- I see another person brewing a beer or read about a brewery's beer that interests me.
- I find recipes from trusted brewers and home brewers.
- I compare and contrast the recipes, and take what I find smart or interesting and start to build my own recipe.
- I think about the flavors, mouthfeel and body, five tastes, purpose, and chemistry of each individual ingredient and begin to formulate each weight.
- I revisit my recipes for a few days until I can't find a fault in them (on paper).
- I like to compare my beers with BJCP guidelines because the BJCP styles are tried and true drinks based on the world's knowledge and love of beers.
- If a beer is not yet listed in the style guidelines, I turn to the industry to determine a generalized set of rules for how the beer should be styled, then I break the rules if necessary.

Nice to meet you. I look forward to sharing in your knowledge, and I hope to bring something to the table as well. Thank you for your valuable time.

Cheers,
Ty

Attachments

• Screenshot_20200711-102857_Chrome.jpg
    Screenshot_20200711-102857_Chrome.jpg
    75.6 KB · Views: 139