How much water

brunsy70

Premium Member
Reaction score
I am a newbie to all grain. I brewed a batch last week and I missed on just about all fronts. My gravity was way low my volume was was low. I had tons of issues with my new (to me) equipment. So here goes. I have 2 keggles
My HLT with valve and pickup tube, MLT has a valve at the bottom and a port located near the top for infusions or wort circulation. The false bottom sits a couple inches off of the bottom so there is an approximately 2.5 gallon dead space. My big question is how do I account for this dead space if at all. I plan on recirculating my wort with a march pump and a piece of high temp tubing and circulating it throughout the mash. My question is basically how can I set up my equipment profile so that it gives me proper water amounts? How much water in my mash and then how much should I have in my HLT for fly sparge.

I believe the profile has space to enter all the "dead space" in your equipment. You should lose water/wort to the grain, the dead space in your lauter tun, the hops, the kettle, trub, evaporation, racking and the lees. In your setup, the 2.5 gallons are kettle losses - there's nothing at all you can do to regain this liquid unless you dump your wort through some kind of screen into the fermentor or remove the false bottom and rack the wort underneath. So, starting from the fermentor volume you want, add all the losses above to get your total water requirement on brew day. Once you know these losses and plug them into your equipment profile - the little gear symbol at the top right of the page - the water calculator will be nearly dead on every time. For my six-gallon batches the water requirements are always very near 10 gallons, more for a big beer with higher loss to the grain, less for smaller beers.