Hitting a Specific Water profile while Hitting also Specific

ramgeva

Trial Member
Reaction score
Hi All
First I'm a newb and also new to this Forum.
I saw the Water Calculator here and it look very good but i have few questions:
1. How do you use this Clac to Match a Certain water profile and PH at the same time because if you want
to hit a certain water profile you need to do some salt additions but this will also affect PH and for PH adjustment you also need to do the same it contradictdict one another so how do you manage to Balance between the two?
2. Where can I find more target profiles? I mean how do I know what the water profile should be according to the Beer Color (I understand this is the correlation needed according to John.P)? For example I have a light Beer of about 6 SRM and the profile in CALC is only for 2-5.

Thanks

Re: Hitting a Specific Water profile while Hitting also Spec

Matching the pH and the profile is up to you. In terms of salts - Baking Soda and Chalk raise pH, the others lower it. I would dial in the mineral profile first. At that point if the pH is too high, add acidulated malt to the grain bill or add acid. The Mash Chemistry and Brewing Water Calculator handles all these scenarios and their combined effect.

A complete list of target profiles is here:
http://www.brewersfriend.com/brewing-wa ... -profiles/

An SRM of 6 is not too far outside the range of 2-5, so I would not worry about that particular example. In general, SRM is an estimate of the grain bill. Our calculator is capable of using the actual grain bill and understands more about what is going on inside the mash.

For your light beer, I'd choose either Balanced Profile I, Light and Malty or Light and Hoppy depending on what I was shooting for flavor wise.

Thanks Larry