Heya, folks.

Gowron's Crazy Eyes

Trial Member
Reaction score
Hey! Saying I'm new to this is overstating my experience. I'm looking into getting started brewing small beers, low-alcohol stuff. I have no equipment at the moment, my budget is almost nonexistent so I'm trying to make sure whatever purchases I am able to make are genuinely needed and worth it. I'll dig around the forums and ask questions when I have 'em. Thanks for reading and see you around.

Welcome, the forum is full of great advice. You can go fancy hi tech or very simple with minimal investment.
Good luck on your journey

Welcome! We all got started sometime, and we all survived it. You can get some pretty inexpensive kits that have everything you need for your first several Brews. And we're here for you.

Welcome to the group. Lots of helpful people here with a wide range of experience. One thing not to skimp on is cleaning. Beyond that, you can brew from a stove top and ferment in a bucket pretty cheap. It is addictive and really easy to build from there. Enjoy

Questions to ask yourself:
Are you brewing on a stove or burner inside or using a propane outside? One of your biggest expenses is going to be a kettle, so where you brew is a biggie. Make sure your burner distributes heat evenly to your kettle. I was using a camp stove for a bit. The weight of the liquid was an accident waiting to happen, and I was missing mash temps. I bought a Blichmann Hellfire. It was not cheap, but I love it.
Do you have access to a cheap, used refrigerator or chest cooler? Beer is much better when you have temperature control, and you can plug a refrigerator into a $30 something controller.