Help with Yeast Starter

Bumpy Bear Brewery

Trial Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,
I need to make my first lager yeast starter and could do with some advise.
I am limited to a 2 litre starter size and I need to get to c.410billion yeast cells from a single liquid vial (WLP800).

I was thinking of making a 500ml starter and agitating this for 24hrs (I don't have a stir plate). After the first 24hrs adding an additional 500ml of wort and continuing the agitation process for a second 24hrs.
At this point I would add a further 1000ml of wort and agitate for 24hrs more to create a 2 litre starter with an estimated 500billion yeast cells.

Does anyone see a problem with this? Stay with me here, I'm new to the world of homebrew.

Thanks

It likely won't generate the number of cells but it will ensure those you have are viable and ready to go. You should be okay.

That process won't get you the needed cell count and the cells will have poor growth. I ran your desired cell count, at a lager pitch rate of 1.5M/ml/degree plato, and method through a yeast calculator (see attached photo) and with your process and volumes you'll only get to ~288B cells, with poor growth. Now, this is assuming your yeast was packaged today. Add in the actual date of your yeast and you'll need more growth. What you could do is larger starter volumes, decanting the supernatant and adding another volume to build the count. It will look something like this, and it's not ideal:

I chose a yeast package date of 3 months old:

4 steps of 1.5L starters, cold crashing and decanting spent wort in between each step. Manually shaking greatly reduces cell growth. This will take ~5 days before it's ready to pitch.

Step 1: 1.5L starter (1.037 OG) 151g DME
After 24 hours ,cold crash and decant
Step 2: 1.5L starter (1.037 OG) 151g DME
After 24 hours,cold crash and decant
Step 3: 1.5L starter (1.037 OG) 151g DME
After 24 hours, cold crash and decant
Step 4: 1.5L starter (1.037 OG) 151g DME