Help! Possible contamination from airlock.

TempleHG

Trial Member
Reaction score
I am a novice brewer making my second batch of beer. I use a fermenter with a spigot at the bottom. I have an IPA in secondary ferment and went to take a gravity reading and didn't think before opening the spigot to draw off some of the wert for testing. When I open the spigot some of the water from the airlock got sucked into the bucket.

My question is my beer ruined or should I just wait and see?

Thanks for any help in this matter

You are probably fine. The yeast have taken off to the point if a germ got in, it would be in trouble.

I use sanitizer solution (diluted star san) in my airlock. Some people use vodka. I sometimes top off my airlock with vodka.

I wouldn't use plain water or an iodine based solution though.

Make sure to disassemble the spigot from the bucket and clean it thoroughly after each brew.

Thanks! I think I will go with the star san in the airlock from now on.

TempleHG said:
Thanks! I think I will go with the star san in the airlock from now on.

Make sure it is DILUTED star san, something like 30ml per 5 gallons of water is the ratio. When I'm sanitizing my air lock and bung, I make sure the airlock gets filled with the sanizier solution.

LarryBrewer said:
Some people use vodka.

I Personally used 50/50 water and vodka. I have never had an issue and never worry about it being sucked into the fermenter.

The logic with vodka (as much logic as there can be with vodka in a sentence), is if it gets in the beer, it just adds a tad to the alcohol level.

Vodka in an airlock is alcohol abuse!
Drink your vodka. :mrgreen:
Fill your airlock with Star San Solution.

Also, to the OP, if you're going to use a bucket with a spigot to ferment in, be very careful with the spigot.