Hello from Michigan

ProSparky

Trial Member
Established Member
Reaction score
First post. Thought I'd see how my posts look here.
I've been brewing for about 23 years now. Started with a turkey fryer setup in the basement of my old house and now I'm breaking in an electric k-rims setup I recently built. Ive come here to try to up my game a little. I always used an old program called ProMash which came to me on a Floppy Disk! With this new brewing system I decided to check out what's available now which is how I ended up here. I've brewed twice on this new setup over the last year so I don't have a lot of time on it. The beer from it hasn't been bad but it definitely hasn't been great. Electric brewing feels a little detached compared to using flame IMO.
Right now I'm bringing it back to basics and starting with a blonde ale which I should be brewing tomorrow morning. I figure I'll keep the recipe easy so I can focus on details more. Im even going to alter my water profile. Usually I just use distilled water from the store, but since my last couple brews have been lackluster I am delving into this facet of brewing. Never done it before and I don't even know how the heck you measure brewing salts exactly. Going to learn how to use the calculator on this site today and then hopefully it will all start to make sense. I have the capacity to brew 10G batches but I'm only interested in 5G. Plus I don't have the drinking buddies I used to and I can only drink so much. I've actually thought about doing smaller batches to work on my recipes, but I don't think I can easily go smaller with my rig.

So hello all, I hope to have some fun here and learn and maybe share what I know as well

First, welcome to Brewers Friend. I think you'll find that there's a pretty good group here, and for every 10 who respond you'll get 12 opinions. And most of them will be good.

But yer showin' yer age with that Floppy reference...lol.