Hello from England

JAMC

Lifetime Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone from the South of England.

Having brewed my first beer in March, I'm fairly new to home brewing. It's been an interesting journey so far and I've got four batches under my belt to date. I did a bit of research online before plunging in and decided to go straight for all-grain rather than extract or kits. It took me a fair amount of time to gather the equipment for a 5 gallon AG setup, but I'm glad I made the effort - the feedback from friends and family (some of whom had brewed from kits in days of yore...) has been very positive.

I signed up to BF when I was starting to plan my first recipes. This site has been invaluable in teaching me the finer points of brewing - particularly in terms of devising recipes. I must have spent hours and hours playing around with recipe ideas and tracking the progress of batches, but I thought it was about time I ventured into the new forum to say hi to everyone. Being new to the hobby, I may have questions galore for the more experienced brewers!

Welcome JAMC! Excellent choice with the Lifetime Membership, we thank you for your purchase!

Nice adaptation of the olympic poster for your avatar. We watched the olympics, what a great city London is, would love to visit.

Indeed, going all grain is an effort, but a worthy quest. Going straight to all grain and skipping extract is an even bigger challenge, nice job. You'll never know what extract twang tastes like, or have to drink through a batch of it!!! Ah, first brews...

I came into home brewing asking myself how I could make the best beer I possibly could. Extract seems like a shorthand way of getting up and running, but there's definitely a trade-off in terms of quality - I wasn't up for that. I thought let's do it properly or not do it at all...