Hello from Columbia, Maryland

jmcnamara

Premium Member
Established Member
Reaction score
Figured I should finally post hear after being in some of the other rooms. I've been brewing for about 4 years, my fiancé bought me a starter kit for Xmas. We're having a beer themed wedding and giving our own brews out as favors. Needless to say, she's pretty cool ;)

Anyway, we're honeymooning on the north island of New Zealand, essentially taking a road trip starting and ending in Auckland. Given the international reach of this site, Id love to hear anyone's suggestions for good breweries, bars, beers, food, hops farms, lord of the rings-related sights, etc. we should try to see. I know one of the stops is Rotoruerra (spelling?), if that helps narrow it down any.

Thanks!

jmcnamara said:
Anyway, we're honeymooning on the north island of New Zealand, essentially taking a road trip starting and ending in Auckland. Given the international reach of this site, Id love to hear anyone's suggestions for good breweries, bars, beers, food, hops farms, lord of the rings-related sights, etc. we should try to see. I know one of the stops is Rotoruerra (spelling?), if that helps narrow it down any.

Thanks!
You're going to love it! I lived for 4 yrs in Christchurch (SI) and absolutely loved NZ. In fact, it is also where I started home brewing. I didn't get up to the North Island very much, so I am afraid I can't be of much help info-wise. On my one-and-only trip to Auckland, I made sure to hit up Shakespeare and Galbraiths. I definitely preferred Galbraiths for both beer and atmosphere, but ymmv... Brothers Beer is new since I was there, but also looks interesting. My parents loved Rotorua when they visited. I headed on down to Lake Taupo to climb instead. :lol:
There are so many small breweries now, that good beer is to be had just about anywhere in NZ.