Hello Everyone from Daytona Beach!

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by siconic, Oct 17, 2016.

1. siconic

siconic New Member

Hello guys and gals,

I have many hobbies, from model airplanes, to cars, and beer has been a growing passion since my first sip of a beer that wasn't Budweiser. I am new to brewing beer, but have brewed several meads, so I am not new to the "process" of brewing itself. I recently just brewed my first batch, 1 GAL to be exact, of a simple Nut Brown Ale, as I want to start small, and see how I like it. I started it on Saturday, and already the bubbling is slowing drastically and the beer is beggining to get clearer. I have already run into my first snag: I need a refractometer for such a small batch! I have several hydrometers, but they are practically useless on a 1 gallon batch! *sigh*

I just created my first recipe as well! In my mind, these ingredient sound good, but in practice, I dont know. The link is below, and any comment or feedback would be great! http://www.brewersfriend.com/homebrew/recipe/view/409679/earl-s-nut-brown-ale

Thanks everyone, and I am glad to be here!

2. jeffpn

jeffpn Well-Known Member

3. siconic

siconic New Member

Thanks! I have something similar, but my concern with such a small batch is loss and in order to keep from losing soooo much product, I would put it back in, a big no no.... unless beer is different and wont contaminate as easily?

4. jeffpn

jeffpn Well-Known Member

It is advised not to replace the sample. I see your point. 2 ounces out of an gallon is 5x as much lost product than I lose! Just keep in mind that refractometers don't read correctly when alcohol is present. You'll have to adjust for it.

5. siconic

siconic New Member

The idea of the refractometer for me, and correct me if I am wrong in my thinking, is that I could use a drop or two, every couple days, to check if the gravity is changing and determine when the fermentation is complete.