Hello all, a bit of an introduction

Timo_Brews

Premium Member
Established Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I just joined the site and I am enjoying the calculators and recipe tools. Really happy to be here!

For introductions, I am a 53 year old man with a wife and a couple of university aged kids. I live in northern Switzerland in a small village close to the border of France and Germany. I live in a region more famous for wine production than beer making, but the microbrewery craze has finally arrived in Switzerland and we can get some good beers these days.

I've been brewing for about 15 years. I have a Ph.D. in biochemistry and my professional life has been working in the area of microbiology for the last 30 years or so. None of my work has been in commercial beer production, so this is more of a hobby for me. I did once take a semester long brewing class at university and spent some time learning the commercial side of industrial microbiology, so I have a little bit of experience, although being a student is not the same as a real professional brewer.

As for equipment, I currently do about 95% of my brews on a Speidel Braumeister 20L plus system. I have a grainfather glycol system with 3 of their pro fermenters, and a pressure fermenter based on an old keg. I still use the old plastic buckets from time to time as well.

I like to make pretty much all kinds of beer, especially things that are hard to find in Swiss stores or things I have never tried before. There are so many beers to make and try!

As for other hobbies, I play guitar and enjoy driving through the mountain passes in my sports car.

Apologies for any English mistakes, I am not a native speaker.

With best regards,

Timo

Last edited:
Hi all,

I just joined the site and I am enjoying the calculators and recipe tools. Really happy to be here!