Golden strong ale not dry enough

Duchifat

Premium Member
Established Member
Reaction score
Dear members,

I am quite new at brewing and brewed my second all grain Belgian golden strong ale. Grain bill:
Pilsner 14.3 lbs
Munich light 0.88 lbs
Adjunct: white sugar 1.1 lbs
I used a mash temperature of 153F and a grain water ratio of 1.72 quarts per pound.
I am quite happy with the result except for the fact that the beer is not dry enough. There is a sweet taste (not dominating) I would like to get rid of. I tried using a thinner mash this time (first time grain water ration was 1.5 quarts per pound) but the sweet taste did not change.
Any ideas what the best way would be to achieve a drier beer with such a recipe and beer type?

Thanks in advance,

Michael

Did you let it ferment completely? If you packaged before it was done it would taste sweet. Make sure you pitch plenty of yeast, aerate the wort and let it ferment until the gravity doesn't change over at least three days.

If you are certain the beer has fermented properly, you could try mashing lower, say 149 degrees. Many people advise mashing for 90 minutes with a low temperature just to make sure the conversion is complete. More sugar would also dry it out more. 1.1 pounds isn't that much for the style, but I would try the lower mash temperature first. Good luck!

Dear PZ,

Thanks for the fast reply and helpful advice. I let it ferment completely (I measure SG) so I will indeed try mashing at a lower temperature. I check the wort with iodine after mashing but don't know how reliable that is. By the way, is the water grain ratio at mashing something to play around with or do you usually keep it constant?

Best regards,

Michael

if you want a dry finish you need to mash low like 149 to 150 , the higher you go over 152 to sweeter it gets