First Time Making Own Recipe - Stout

LiverpoolFC

Trial Member
Reaction score
Just looking for some feedback. This is my first time making my own recipe. I have done several extract kits and would like to venture out and take the next step.

Please look over. Any and all feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Also is this one that I could just steep the grains or need to partial mash.

Thanks in advance.

Brew Method: Partial Mash
Style Name: Stout
Boil Time: 60 min
Batch Size: 5.5 gallons (fermentor volume)
Boil Size: 4 gallons
Boil Gravity: 1.092
Efficiency: 35% (brew house)

STATS:
Original Gravity: 1.067
Final Gravity: 1.022
ABV (standard): 5.82%
IBU (tinseth): 24.95
SRM (morey): 40

FERMENTABLES:
7 lb - Dry Malt Extract - Light (58.3%)
1.5 lb - American - Caramel / Crystal 120L (12.5%)
1 lb - Flaked Oats (8.3%)
1 lb - American - Roasted Barley (8.3%)
0.5 lb - Lactose (Milk Sugar) (4.2%)
1 lb - United Kingdom - Pale Chocolate (8.3%)

HOPS:
2 oz - Willamette, Type: Pellet, AA: 4.5, Use: Boil for 45 min, IBU: 19.64
1 oz - Willamette, Type: Pellet, AA: 4.5, Use: Boil for 15 min, IBU: 5.31

MASH GUIDELINES:
1) Temperature, Temp: 154 F, Time: 60 min, Amount: 3 gal, All Grains Together

YEAST:
White Labs - British Ale Yeast WLP005
Starter: Yes
Form: Liquid
Attenuation (avg): 70.5%
Flocculation: High
Optimum Temp: 65 - 70 F
Fermentation Temp: 70 F

NOTES:
Partial Mash
Heat to 170 F - Strike Temp
Add Grain
Mash at 154 for 60 mins
Sparge Grain (170 F)

Boil 60 mins

Add Lactose @ 15 mins

***might use English Ale Yeast WLP002

First, you can steep the grains. In fact, you have to because there's nothing that will convert itself.