FG hydrometer reading

Triskele

Trial Member
Established Member
Reaction score
I'm new to brewing but I'm trying to understand how to take the FG sample. I use a bottling bucket with a simple syrup. My conundrum is actually obtain the sample. I'm thinking the only way would be taking it from the bucket before adding the syrup. Is this correct?

Welcome to the forum!
Yes, that is correct, but with some caveats.
Better practice would be to collect a sample from your fermenter before you transfer to your bottling bucket, to make sure you are at terminal gravity (FG). If not at FG, give it more time. Ultimately, you want 2 readings at the same gravity to ensure fermentation is complete - if you bottle before fermentation is complete, you could end up with bottle bombs. You don’t want bottle bombs. I always let my fermentations go for 3 weeks, which is plenty of time to ensure that fermentation is complete.
Make sure to clean and sanitize anything that will touch your wort before collecting a sample.

Best way to mix the syrup into the fermented wort is to add the syrup to the bottling bucket and then transfer the beer on top of it. This will give you a more consistent mix than if you were to transfer first and then add the sugar and stir. In my opinion anyway.

So I think it would be best to get a FG reading from the fermenter.

Does your fermenter have a spigot?

If yes, just draw off a sample from that before transferring to the bottling bucket.

If not, you can either drop a clean, sanitized hydrometer right into the fermenter and take a reading from there OR syphon a bit of beer into your hydrometer tube before transferring the rest into the bottling bucket.

Or, you can wait for some better answers! :)

Cheers!

Last edited:
Thanks everyone for the feedback.