Feedback of brew day please (missed my OG numbers)

mrskittle

Trial Member
Established Member
Reaction score
Hey folks. I'm still very new to brewing having only brewed two extract batches so far. The first batch turned out pretty darn tasty and the second is just into the fermenter. The first brew day was a little stressful and there were plenty of little mistakes, but none bad enough to ruin anything. I spent a lot of time going over all of the missteps and figuring out what I need to do differently. I was feeling very comfortable on my second brew day and everything went smoothly as far as the process went. However, as the title indicates, I didn't hit my OG number of 1.054. I came in around 1.034 instead. I'll give a quick rundown of the brew and maybe someone can pick out where I went wrong.

Here's a link to the recipe but I'll give a quick sketch here too. (Weird that it won't let me insert a link to the recipe) It's called "Sierra Nevada Clone w/ Centennial"

5 lbs LME Pale
2 lbs DME Extra light (late addition)
1 lb American crystal 60L
1 lb Pale Ale malt (got a lb by accident so I decided to throw it in)

Cascade hops at 60, 30, 15, and zero minutes
Centennial hops at 15, and zero minutes

safale - 05 yeast