Entire recipe editor page unresponsive/slow

nmuleski

Trial Member
Reaction score
This has been an ongoing issue but is now so bad that I can't even create a new recipe.

The editing recipe page is completely unresponsive for me. The lag between pressing a button and something happening is between 5-20 seconds, and often the entire page becomes unresponsive for minutes at a time. It starts as soon as open the page and try to open a drop-down, or type anything in.

No other page on the site has this issue, but editing recipes is nearly impossible for me right now. I've tried Edge and Chrome with the same results.

Watching the resource monitor on my laptop, just opening the Recipe Editor takes my RAM for Edge from 400mb to 2553mb! Anytime I click on something in the recipe editor my CPU usage jumps from 2-3% to 15-20%.

I tried this while monitoring memory and did not see a significant jump. Page is responsive as expected.

While I am no computer expert, how much memory does the laptop have? If it is close to 3 GB or less you may be hitting your system's "disk cache", where the system writes to the hard disk because it is out of RAM. This definitely slows a system to a crawl.

If that's not the case, perhaps @Pricelessbrewing might have some insight.

Is there any possibility of using a different computer as a test?

I will try another computer, but this computer is a beast: i7 processor and 16GB of RAM.

I also tried running it in Incognito mode so that none of my extensions would be interfering with it, but I had the same results.

I will try another computer, but this computer is a beast: i7 processor and 16GB of RAM.
OK, so it's unlikely the machine, and less likely the browser or it's add-ons. Since you have good responsiveness of the forums, it is also unlikely your internet connection. Weird. As I mentioned, I'm no expert, and thus we have reached the limits of my expertise...