(DONE) ingredients inventory

Discussion in 'Feature Requests' started by scottvin, Jul 22, 2012.

  1. scottvin

    scottvin New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I sent and email but figured I would post here as well. It would be great if I could keep a list of all beer related stuff in one place including my inventory. Grains and hops are two things for certain but maybe yeast as well.

    Thanks!
     
  2. sbaclimber

    sbaclimber Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    Messages:
    872
    Likes Received:
    340
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Germany
    Re: ingredients inventory

    That's a great idea!
    I hereby add my vote. :D
     
  3. LarryBrewer

    LarryBrewer Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,728
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    Re: ingredients inventory

    Indeed this idea has been on our TODO list since the beginning. We plan on working on it in the near future.
     
  4. NewBier

    NewBier New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: ingredients inventory

    +1 on the inventory idea....also maybe an app that connects online?
     
  5. LarryBrewer

    LarryBrewer Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,728
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    Re: ingredients inventory

    This feature is scheduled for our next release!!!

    It will go in stages. The first stage will allow you to track inventory.

    The following stages, in following releases will include:
    * Allow you to deduct ingredients from your inventory when you brew.
    * Have ingredients you enter in your inventory flow into the recipe editor drop downs (where applicable).
     
  6. LarryBrewer

    LarryBrewer Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,728
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    We are happy to announce the first version of inventory management is live. Look for the My Inventory button under the My Brewing navigation menu at the top, or the link to My Inventory from your brewing dashboard.

    Feedback appreciated! Do understand it is a brand new feature so there could be a few small issues with it.
     
  7. sbaclimber

    sbaclimber Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    Messages:
    872
    Likes Received:
    340
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Germany
    Sweet! Thanks, Larry. It works like a charm.
    I just entered all of the ingredients I have in storage......and quickly came to the conclusion that it is time to go shopping again. :lol:

    I do have one question though...
    What exactly does the "mashed" in the fermentables section mean? ...and if it means what I think it does (e.g. extract kits), why is it selected by default for malt grains?
     

    Attached Files:

  8. LarryBrewer

    LarryBrewer Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,728
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    Maybe we need to rename that column? We are thinking of it as 'needs to be mashed'. Eg, - 2-row needs to be mashed, but malt extract does not. It sounds like you might be interpreting is as 'already mashed'?

    That field comes into play when you add a custom ingredient. We put that in the architecture from the start because eventually your ingredients will flow through to the recipe builder (in the drop down list). That way they will work as expected on that page.
     
  9. sbaclimber

    sbaclimber Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    Messages:
    872
    Likes Received:
    340
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Germany
    Hehe, yup, I took it to mean exactly the opposite of what you meant it to mean. :D
    Now that I know what is means, it is no big deal. Not sure what the others think, but I would consider "unmashed" be more of a one-word equivalent to "needs to be mashed" than "mashed", but I may the only one.
     
  10. NewBier

    NewBier New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I love the new feature.

    This could be a bug, when i try an edit something the fermentables menu appears with fermentables ticked. So you have to click away from it to edit the other options. I'm using an ipad, in case that makes a difference.

    A potential future addition could be, when adding hops the form auto fills like in the recipie page.
     
  11. JAMC

    JAMC Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    England
    Well done on the inventory functionality, I've already used it to great effect (need to order stuff!)

    The only thing I've noticed is that when adding a hop entry, the field doesn't auto-suggest the different hop varieties then retrieve their AA level like the main recipe builder.
     
  12. LarryBrewer

    LarryBrewer Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,728
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    We'll work on confirming the iPad issue reported by NewBier, and the hops autofill.

    Glad this is coming in handy! Yeah, now I know what is in my freezer too, no more having to dig to figure out what hops are in there.
     
  13. LarryBrewer

    LarryBrewer Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,728
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    The Inventory section's hops variety field now works just like the one in the recipe editor, in terms of auto complete, and suggesting an AA value.

    We have plans to extend what is in the autocomplete to include everything in your current inventory and past recipes so it is more intelligent.
     
  14. scottvin

    scottvin New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I know this is a completed request but is there anyway to print the inventory list? (other than print screen)
     
  15. LarryBrewer

    LarryBrewer Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,728
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    Good idea, please open a new thread for that.
     

Share This Page

arrow_white