(DONE) Add ml as an option

Discussion in 'Feature Requests' started by perogi, Feb 24, 2013.

  1. perogi

    perogi New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    Howdy! Me again. This one should be a lot easier :)

    For the Other Ingredients section in the recipe creator, I think it would be a good idea to add "ml" as an option in the amount drop down. My water is quite soft so I need to add lactic acid to get the pH down.

    Thanks!
    perogi.
     
  2. LarryBrewer

    LarryBrewer Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,728
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    Re: Add ml as an option

    Understood. It does require extra unit conversion functions, options in the shopping list and inventory, and probably a few other places (oh, BeerXML export), but it makes sense!
     
  3. perogi

    perogi New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    Re: Add ml as an option

    I noticed that if you use the metric system, "L" is an option.

    I can imagine that since you implemented the ability to switch from imperial to metric (and back) that adding "mL" might add a level of difficulty to the translation.

    So take my idea with a grain of salt. Maybe I will have to learn to measure stuff in kg :)

    Thanks again for reading!
    perogi.

    EDIT: wow you replied quickly!
     
  4. LarryBrewer

    LarryBrewer Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,728
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    Re: Add ml as an option

    Thanks, yeah I'm on the computer a lot and I like to keep the inbox clean... ;)

    It is good to leave these items open for awhile to let others comment too. There might be a half dozen units that would be helpful, and it makes more sense to knock them out all at once.
     
  5. perogi

    perogi New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    Re: Add ml as an option

    Agreed - thank you for considering my request!
     
  6. Tore

    Tore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    Re: Add ml as an option

    Ml is milliliter, a thousand of a liter. The conversion is really simple, 1/1000 = 0,001L = 1 ml. I don't mean to be an asshole, but feature overload is bad (more stuff to fix, more stuff to go wrong, more stuff to understand as a user).
     
  7. perogi

    perogi New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    Re: Add ml as an option

    I have to disagree with your assessment - adding a new option for a measurement isn't feature overload - it makes sense when we are measuring items like lactic acid. You are certainly not going to add 1 L of lactic acid to a mash or sparge water.

    In addition, using your logic we shouldn't have oz as a measurement because 1 oz is 1/16th of a pound. Or more in tune with the metric system don't have g as an option because it's 1/1000th of a kg.

    If the devs think that it would be difficult to implement or maintain, that's definitely a concern and I'm more than happy to remove my request. But thinking that a user is going to get confused because there's L and mL in an option list is a stretch.

    Thank you for reading,
    perogi.
     
  8. mrjofus1959

    mrjofus1959 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Collins, CO
    Re: Add ml as an option

    Seems like g/kg and ml/l make perfect sense. Just like oz/lb or oz/gal. Expecting someone to enter 0.0625 lb instead of 1oz wouldn't make sense right? Or how about 0.039 gal instead of 5 oz? Point being if you need to measure ml then that's a better unit than decimal equivalents of liters.
     
  9. LarryBrewer

    LarryBrewer Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,728
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    Re: (NEXT RELEASE) Add ml as an option

    Next release will get milliliters in the other amount drop down on the recipe editor.
     
  10. LarryBrewer

    LarryBrewer Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,728
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    Milliliters are now an option in the drop down in the other ingredients section.
     

Share This Page

arrow_white