Cooling wort

Duchifat

Premium Member
Established Member
Reaction score
Dear all,

I am relatively new at this, brewed 3 batches using malt extract and 1 batch all grain.

I am considering ways to cool wort after boiling and thought of running it through a copper coil submerged in an ice bath. During the process I intend to refresh the ice supply in the bath. Such a method is usually not mentioned as one of the (3) methods I have read about (i.e. water basin, submerged wort cooler, heat exchanger). I guess one reason might be sanitation issues, although I fail to see the difference between such a method and a heat exchanger.
Does anyone have experience with such a method? Opinions why this might be a good or bad idea?

My motivation for using such a method is water conservation. Also, tap water temperature here is pretty high.

Thanks in advance,

Michael

as far as sanitation goes, it wouldn't be any different than a counter flow chiller, that has a copper coil that the beer goes through, wrapped in a hose that water goes through. you would definitely need to wash it out fully, but it should work fine.

What I would do is to run the chilled water through the copper coils immersed in the wort. This is called an immersion chiller. Your chances of contaminating anything are much lower this way - you can dump your chiller in the wort at flameout or a couple minutes before, the boiling wort sterilizes it and then you have nothing to worry about the liquid running through the pipes. The other way around, running the wort through the pipes, you have cleaning and sanitation problems I don't even want to try to solve.

I have somewhat similar system.

I have a keg that I fill with water then freeze solid in my -30 freezer, I have an immersion chiller wrapped around the keg loose so it doesn't freeze, I add it after the keg freezes then put both in a big tub of water.