Construction methods

Ward Chillington

Trial Member
Established Member
Reaction score
Hey DIY'ers of brew stands and other stuff; I need some ideas on how best to use my resources for a sturdy stand and a kettle modification.

First the easy one, a simple mod to my SST brewers best lid so I can hand the thing off the kettle when I need to for quick access and such. My old Polarware had a hook on the underside of the lid that was great but not being a welder I am a little short on that. I was thinking of drilling a hole in the lip then looping some stainless wire around one of the kettle's side handles and just hook the thing on there as needed. What else should I consider or am I over thinking? JFDI!

The other issue is which materials lend themselves best to a brewing sculpture?
20190105_132049.jpeg
I have access to L stock ( the stuff with the weird hole on the right), Kindorff ( sp?? the stuff with the oval holes on the left) and the holey square stock (in the middle). The issue again, I am not a welder! So how best to join these 3 different stock types with bolts? I would really like to use the holey square stock since it's the strongest of the 3 but I do not know of a product that you can stick in them for joining right angles especially if you want to join them on the same plane as in not one on top of the other. Any ideas?

Last edited:
Go with the stuff with the round holes in the middle for the load-bearing verticals. You can use the stuff with the oblong holes for the lateral load-bearing supports, the light-weight stuff with the funny holes for bracing and as a support for shelves with light loads. Short bolts, washers and a lock washer on every joint. The square stock is overkill.

I was thinking the same thing but also all of them will rust eventually so paint or something is needed