Carapils v. Carafoam

soccerdad

Trial Member
Reaction score
Hey all. I'm looking to gain from your wisdom and experience.
I started brewing all grain about 100 years ago and the conventional wisdom at the time said "Carapils at 5% or less will help your beer get a nice head and retain it." A few years later - or rather a few years ago - folks started saying, "It doesn't really do anything." I might have even seen a post from Yooper where she wrote, " I don't use it anymore."
I'm wondering if any of you use it? For a pillowy head - or another reason? Do you value it in certain recipes? Do you associate any taste or flavor with it?
More recently I have seen posts where folks say, "If you want that foamy head, use Carafoam."
Do any of you use it? If so, how do you rate it?
I actually have some of each. I bought a pound of Carafoam when I heard it was the real deal magic that Carapils was supposed to have lo those many years ago.
Here is part of why I ask ... I made a Steam Beer a few weeks back using SF Lager yeast. It had a bit of Carapils in the recipe so I added it to the grist. I packaged it two days ago. I put a gallon in bottles and 2 gallons in a 3G keg. It will need to lager and condition a few weeks. I put gas on the keg, but just 10 psi and it's only been there 50 hours or so. But I had to sneak a taste and was surprised to see a nice white head on a beer that can't yet be fully carbed. Tasted good but a little green so I'm thinking even better in 2 to 4 weeks. Might the Carapils have had that impact?
I'm interested in your thoughts.

I have carapils in many of my recipes, but cuurently have carafoam in my carapils storage container.
My understanding is that they are essentially the same malt.
Sorry I can't say that it does, or does not make a difference.
I don't know if I would still get the below effects without it, but I see no reason to experiment with that.