bottle conditioning

Zambi

Trial Member
Established Member
Reaction score
I got a batch belgian ale / blonde fermenting at around 21-22 oC which is almost ready for bottling.

I heard a lot of remarks of cold crashing before bottling. I have never done this before. I always bottled, let the bottles carbonate and then move to the fridge
Should I try cold crashing?

Then after bottling, I've always had my bottles in a cooler box to condition. I would like to do that again, so I can directly re-pitch on the slurry and get the fermenter in the fridge again.
This fermentation fridge is too small for bottles and fermenter
Any major disadvantages?

Cold crashing is primarily for clearing up the beer, which is a personal preference in my opinion. If you are happy with the aesthetics from the fermenter, I'd bottle and re-pitch on the slurry. Keep in mind things will settle in the bottle as well. If the beer is currently too hazy for your likes, then cold crash it and maybe save the slurry for later use.

I empathize with having limited cooling real estate and the resulting sacrifices we must make :)

I got a batch belgian ale / blonde fermenting at around 21-22 oC which is almost ready for bottling.

I heard a lot of remarks of cold crashing before bottling. I have never done this before. I always bottled, let the bottles carbonate and then move to the fridge
Should I try cold crashing?

Then after bottling, I've always had my bottles in a cooler box to condition. I would like to do that again, so I can directly re-pitch on the slurry and get the fermenter in the fridge again.
This fermentation fridge is too small for bottles and fermenter
Any major disadvantages?
I personally would continue as you have, bottle it up and on to the next brew on the cake.
Cold crashing is nice but not a necessity. I can cold crash with my glycol setup but brewed for 25 years before cold crashing and the beer was fine.

Cold crash seems pretty easy to do.