Complete newbie but looking to change that

brosborough

Trial Member
Reaction score
So, after trips to Tulsa and watching football games, one of our kids now goes to school there, we have been doing the tailgates, hitting local pubs, and I have found a beer that I now HAVE to recreate. Guess others have as well as I tracked a clone recipe down to this site. So, having never brewed beer before I’m thinking how hard can it be? Please forgive my total ignorance. No “kit” involved with this. It’s a full on from scratch with a million, well maybe not a million” but a million things thrown in. I’d equate it to an imperial stout. Coffee, chocolate, etc etc. so yea. Um no way can I do this as my first beer. Reading the recipe I’m still no so certain it is even in English!!

So help me get started. What I’m finding so far on YouTube still kind of jumps ahead of me. I’m trying to find something that I can keep watching over and over that might step by step making a stout and explain what all the terms are/mean. As I learn that maybe I can find some much easier recipes to start off with. Maybe someone has a good book or three I need to buy off Amazon? I see many. Hoping for some recommendations based on what I want to do.

Second, full on equipment list. At first I thought money is no object. Go find an all-in-one solution. Ok money is an object. $4,000 is a bit out of my budget. Lol. Again I just had no idea.

So not sure what you need to know to help me piece this together. Maybe I’ll learn it all in the books recommended. Figured whatever I buy to make the harder Stout will work for my intro beers as well. So maybe this list will help? Or perhaps I’m just far to inexperienced to even know what to tell you yet.

1. Whatever I buy needs to be used on the stouts. So spending money up front is preferable than buying something twice.

2. the recipe I have makes 5 gallons.

3. I want to keg my beer, not bottle.