Yeast Energizer

Drewfus1

Premium Member
Reaction score
How many of you folks add a yeast energizer or nutrient to your boil? I hadn't used any until recently. I picked some energizer up for a batch of saison to avoid stalling but started adding a 1/2 tsp to all my batches just because I happened to have it around. I haven't noticed any perceivable difference in taste but I have noticed a difference in fermentation. With the energizer, fermentation takes off very quickly, finishes earlier and I'm getting slightly lower FG readings. Anyone else have the same experience?

I use 1/2 tsp Wyeast nutrient every brew (5.25 gal.). Likely not a necessity, but cheap insurance.

Be nice to your yeasts and they will serve you well.

Wyeast nutrient.
Noticed same but as I learned more about starters and temp control also got better results with attenuation. Very consistent and predictable now. When I started brewing i wasn't getting enough o2 in wort but nutrient definitely helped then. As Bob says, cheap good insurance. Not the only trick in the bag, but a good one to help keep the yeasties happy.

I'm going to start using some bakers yeast in starter boil an observe. I've not used any nutrient though.

I use Wyeast nutrient, it's a good source of zinc. Zinc is the nutrient malt does not provide to the yeast. I also add bread yeast for extra lipids and other nutrients.