Fix for hop error ?

Reaction score
Noticed my error should say HOP error. ( should avoid using my phone to post in the future:oops:)

So I did kinda big brew day yesterday and did 3 small batch brews. One was a test of cream ale recipe I'm working on, and my first partial mash.
Looking at the numbers I got 65% efficiency which i'm taking as a win especially since I forgot to heat my rinse/sparge water :(. And only missed target OG by 2 points.
Anyway point of the post is to ask if I can fix the BIG mistake I made with this test. (I think I know the answer but since i'm new to this I'll ask)
I forgot to scale my Hop amounts to the smaller test size and instead of 25-26 Ibu, I'm looking at 100.08 ibu:eek: this was supposed to be a cream ale.
I pitched WLP 080 cream ale yeast. But think this may be too high for it to mellow out to reasonable level. Is there anything I can add to maybe cut the bitterness down at this point?. I didn't discover my error until I was writing everything in my log and had already pitched:mad:

Last edited:
Brew two more small batches and blend it out is likely the best option. Second best: Add some fermentable sugars like lactose to balance out the perception of bitterness. Last option: Call it a bitter bomb IPA.

Brew two more small batches and blend it out is likely the best option. Second best: Add some fermentable sugars like lactose to balance out the perception of bitterness. Last option: Call it a bitter bomb IPA.
I think I will try the lactose route, Can't really brew again this week, waay to busy.

While looking to get lactose, it says non-fermentable sugar. Is that what you meant? And if so, should I wait and add this at bottling?

I'd wait and taste what post fermentation tastes like who knows hopefully it wont taste like 100IBU. You can then blend

I'd wait and taste what post fermentation tastes like who knows hopefully it wont taste like 100IBU. You can then blend