Complete newbie, St Peters ruby ale kit

Rivendell_Rebel

Trial Member
Reaction score
Hello all

Complete newbie from UK here

So me and the OH were brought th st peter's brew kit for Xmas

We have never brewed beer before.

We brought a fermentation bucket and all the stuff and after a long session of sterilising everything. Set it off.

It is currently bubbling away at about 20-22°. The box say to fermented for 4-6 days but my research say it needs much longer than that

Any advice ???

Thanks

It can be done in that time, but it won't hurt and it will more than likely help if you give it 12-14 days until you try to bottle. I'm a big fan of the two week rhythm method that one of the posters here proposes for people starting out. I'm still using it more less, years later.

Congrats on the start, sounds like you'll have made beer.

It can be done in that time, but it won't hurt and it will more than likely help if you give it 12-14 days until you try to bottle. I'm a big fan of the two week rhythm method that one of the posters here proposes for people starting out. I'm still using it more less, years later.

Congrats on the start, sounds like you'll have made beer.

Hi

Thanks for the reply,

We hoped to have it ready by the time we go away on the 19th April

The box said 6 days ferment then 16 in bottle . Feel like the manufacturer is cutting it a bit fine and underestimating times!

What advise could you give us on bottling?

My limited experience with bottle conditioning is that it takes around two weeks depending on temperature. My experience is around five bottled batches (I keg now). But I think if you are bottle conditioning the cycle is more like 4 weeks (fermenter 2 weeks bottle 2 weeks)