Wheat mash PH

Aje1967

Premium Member
Established Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am planning on brewing a wheat beer and by tinkering with my calcium chloride mash additions I was able to get the PH down to 5.58 which, I believe, is a good PH. I have to add 2 teaspoons to the mash (11 lbs) to get that. Is that acceptable? I am new to caring about my water.
I use bottled artesian water and got the water report from the company. Pretty interesting.

Thanks,

Basically, no. I mean, sure it would work, but think of calcium chloride as salt (which it is). When you make spaghetti sauce, adding a little seasoning makes the spaghetti sauce go from bland to great. The same is true of beer- adding a little of the correct salt is "seasoning" to improve the beer flavor. So think of those additions as seasoning salts, and not a way to adjust mash pH. Two teaspoons is around 10 grams(?) so it is probably ok, but might not be.

To target mash pH, a little acid is what should be used. Lactic acid and phosphoric acid are most common in the US and what I'm most familiar with.

There is an article for water chemistry here: https://www.brewersfriend.com/2017/11/19/brewing-water-basics-part-1/
It's in three parts, but it is part 1 and a quick read.

Adding calcium to the mash lowers the pH, but only slightly. Some form of acid is needed as Yooper said already to lower pH. Usually water salts are added to increase the calcium content of the wort, most brewers target 70ppm for yeast health/flocculation and to get a proper balance between chlorides and sulfates. That balance is the flavor enhancer Yooper mentioned.