Making wine and beer

Deano1602

Premium Member
Reaction score
Does anyone else here make homemade wine as well as brew beer besides me? I have apple and pear trees in my yard and i make wine from all sorts of different fruit.also. just wondering.

Just kegged 5 gallons of apple cider here. Cheers

Does anyone else here make homemade wine as well as brew beer besides me? I have apple and pear trees in my yard and i make wine from all sorts of different fruit.also. just wondering.
We do wines as well, but largely European-style wines from kits. Once in a while, usually about once a year, we get some juice and make an Albarino. Fruit wines.... Not so much. I want to do some cider from our crab apple tree but am too lazy to tend the fruit.

I was a winemaker many years before I started brewing.

Right now I have quite a bit of wine in carboys from this fall: beta- type concord-cross grapes, blackberry, Bob's 5 berry blend (from berries from our yard, a blend of black currants, elderberries, chokecherries, black chokeberries, and blackberries), apple wine, crabapple wine, and a few others I can't recall at this moment.

I've been making wine for about 30 years now.

My Dad made wine, thank you Jimmy Carter, and I have a few pieces of his hardware that I have repurposed for beer and I too dipped my toe into the grapes last year and again yesterday, thank you Yopper! Both times I have done the Welch's concentrate and it really does get better in the bottle. I went with a mix of the red and white frozen concentrate last time and brewed a punch purple concoction that I really liked. The wife is a sweet whites lover so I need to go in that direction next time...maybe we can compromise on a fruity Rose....anybody got a recipe for my tightwad taste?

In addition to beer and wine, I also make sauerkraut, fermented peppers and other fermented vegetables, Kombucha, vinegar and Mead to name a few.
I've also made cheese and butter.
ETC! haha
Kind of a rabbit hole.
Cheers,
Brian