OG too high, already added yeast.

geaux_brew

Trial Member
Reaction score
I am new to brewing and just started my second batch. I obviously have a lot to learn. Here is my issue. After boiling and transferring to my carbon, I added the water and took my hydrometer sample. However I did not take the reading until after I added the yeast. However, it is around 1.08 and is supposed to be around 1.065. I can’t really add any water in my carboy. Is the higher OG a major problem? How will it effect my beer if at all?

I am new to brewing and just started my second batch. I obviously have a lot to learn. Here is my issue. After boiling and transferring to my carbon, I added the water and took my hydrometer sample. However I did not take the reading until after I added the yeast. However, it is around 1.08 and is supposed to be around 1.065. I can’t really add any water in my carboy. Is the higher OG a major problem? How will it effect my beer if at all?
What yeast did you add and how much? How long has it been? Do you have more of the same yeast?

It might struggle a bit, but you'll probably be ok. Honestly I'd chalk it up to a learning experience and hope it turns out.

It might struggle a bit, but you'll probably be ok. Honestly I'd chalk it up to a learning experience and hope it turns out.
What would cause that? Steeping too long? I have the appropriate amount of water based off of the recipee.

To much sugar from somewhere. This was steeped grains with Liquid or dry extract?

What would cause that? Steeping too long? I have the appropriate amount of water based off of the recipee.
If anything it will create an ester profile but will probably be fine. You'll have a wee heavy. If you did all grain then the chances are your recipe was built off of a lower effeciency than you achieved.

To much sugar from somewhere. This was steeped grains with Liquid or dry extract?