Conversion vs. "pre-boil" efficiency for BIAB

JimFisher

Premium Member
Reaction score
How are you BIAB people measuring "conversion" versus "pre-boil" gravity for BIAB? I've been using BF for a couple of years and have always pulled the bag, squeeze, then enter the same number for my conversion and pre-boil gravity. A "eureka" moment caused me to ponder the fact that I've been doing it wrong this whole time.

I NOW assume that, for conversion efficiency, I should take a reading at the end of the mash before I take the bag out, then another reading after I squeeze for pre-boil.

Am I correct or no?

I BIAB, and I gave up on readings until my wort is in the fermenter. It took me a few brews to get it dialed in, but I’m usually pretty close on points. I set my recipes for 70% brew house (I think it’s called).

I guess I answered my own question. According to the BF website, the "conversion" and "pre-boil" are, in fact, the same reading for BIAB people. I was getting blasted on a Facebook page for stating that they were the same reading. I win. ;)

1) Conversion Efficiency: The percentage of total available sugars that were extracted from the grains inside the mash tun.
  • Brew Log Type - 'Mash Complete'.
  • Measurement Option A - first runnings:
    • Gravity - sample taken from first runnings.
    • Volume - strike water used (count all water added to the MLT before the sample was taken).
    • Generally, only accurate for recirculated mash systems.
  • Measurement Option B - blend of runnings:
    • Gravity - sample taken before the boil, blend of all runnings.
    • Volume - how much water went into the MLT, counting strike and sparge water.
    • Note: With Option B, the wort sample must be fully blended from all the runnings to be accurate. First runnings have a higher gravity than second runnings.
    • Best option for batch spargers. Works for BIAB and partial mash (MLT and kettle are the same).

https://www.brewersfriend.com/faq/#brewsessions5