Fermcap-S

BOB357

Trial Member
Reaction score
I've been using Fermcap-S in starters and fermentation for a couple of years. I pitched Nottingham yeast into an 1.063 IPA Tuesday and after about 8 hours it was going strong. Went in this morning to take a look and the air lock had blown off. Luckily, not a big mess in the fermentation fridge. This was 5.25 gallons in a 6.5 gallon Bigmouth Bubbler and, yes, I did remember to add 11 drops of Fermcap-S when transferring to the fermenter.

I'm thinking the Fermcap-S must be too old. There has been more krausen on the last few batches and now this blow off. The bottle doesn't have any date on it, but I'm pitching it and picking up more tomorrow.

Has anyone had a similar experience?

I've never used it for fermentation, I always used it in the boil to prevent boil over.

I have no experience with Ferm-cap or any other similar items in effect, rather I use a blow off tube in a bottle full of Star-San for every brew. I might switch over to a bubbler when fermentation has slowed, but even then it’s only for counter space. I’m curious on future comments as I love to learn about others and their techniques. Man I love Home brewing! Sorry I couldn’t contribute directly.

I've used Fermcap in the boil - and stopped. Never tried it for fermentation. I've used blow-off tubes and my current round of fermentors is large enough that there's no blow-off needed. Different yeasts produce different krauesens so it may just be a function of the yeast you used rather than the Fermcap. When there are two explanations for a thing and one is more likely, bet on that one. I don't think Fermcap - basically simethicone, can go bad.

Yep, it's just silica in a solution

I used a blow off tube in the past, but Fermcap was just so easy and worked well. Since I use it for starters, why not for fermentation?