First Time Brewing Problems

Michael's Alcohall

Trial Member
Reaction score
Good Day! It is my first time to brew beer and encountered two problems that I would like to correct in future brews. Hoping I could get some feedback from experienced brewers here.

Today is bottling day (after 12 days of fermentation) of my first all grain ale beer. Everything (at least from what I know) went well during the mash and brew day. Within 12hours after pitching the yeast, I noticed my airlock bubbling already. Upon checking, i missed my target FG of 1.017 by 0.001 but proceeded with bottling anyway.

Upon opening my bucket i noticed something weird floating, is this (attached photo) normal? Is this the yeast?

Then when I proceeded to capping, my red bottle capper won't properly crimp the crown. Are there different sizes of "capper bell"?

Going to give this another try within the next few weeks and I hope I can correct my mistakes. Thank you for your help.

Attachments

• received_10154684146757274.jpeg
    received_10154684146757274.jpeg
    152.7 KB · Views: 169
Good Day! It is my first time to brew beer and encountered two problems that I would like to correct in future brews. Hoping I could get some feedback from experienced brewers here.

Today is bottling day (after 12 days of fermentation) of my first all grain ale beer. Everything (at least from what I know) went well during the mash and brew day. Within 12hours after pitching the yeast, I noticed my airlock bubbling already. Upon checking, i missed my target FG of 1.017 by 0.001 but proceeded with bottling anyway.

Upon opening my bucket i noticed something weird floating, is this (attached photo) normal? Is this the yeast?

Then when I proceeded to capping, my red bottle capper won't properly crimp the crown. Are there different sizes of "capper bell"?

Going to give this another try within the next few weeks and I hope I can correct my mistakes. Thank you for your help.