How many batches have you tossed?

Gunny1775

Trial Member
Reaction score
So I'm fairly new to BIAB brewing. I just brewed my 3rd batch this past weekend. Its a California Lager from Northern brewer. I used the dry yeast S-05 option since I live in the Devils armpit here in Yuma Arizona. I made a newbie mistake and re-hydrated the yeast too early (shortly after mash in, prior to boil). I pitched anyway in hopes that the yeast didn't starve and would go to work. I"m now about 72 hours into the ferment and so far ZERO activity in the airlock. I made the bad decision to put the wort in a bucket for primary fermentation instead of my Bubbler (saving for secondary, buying another bubbler on payday) so I can't see any activation. Homebrew store doesn't open until tomorrow so I'm waiting to pop a peak when I have another packet of yeast just in case i have to re-pitch. It got me thinking, I wonder if I have to toss this batch to do what ever other newbie mistake I may make, which in turn I chased a squirrel to the question "I wonder how many, on average, the home brewers in America and abroad of brew have we tossed"? Late night squirrel chasing with a glass of scotch lol.

Tossed 1 batch in last 2 years , had evicted a housemate and found lid on bucket in a slightly different position so tossed it ...also replaced my toothbrush o_O .

had a few batches not quite right but choked them down as a lesson to myself .

As for the no activity in airlock it does not mean fermentation hasnt started , if in any doubt take a hydrometer sample

Tossed 1 batch in last 2 years , had evicted a housemate and found lid on bucket in a slightly different position so tossed it ...also replaced my toothbrush o_O .

had a few batches not quite right but choked them down as a lesson to myself .

As for the no activity in airlock it does not mean fermentation hasnt started , if in any doubt take a hydrometer sample