To recirculate the mash or not?

Stephen P

Trial Member
Reaction score
I just got a 16 gallon ss mash tun that I plan on using as direct fire mash tun. I thinking about adding a pump to recirculate the mash. Is it worth it?

defiantly, your beer and brewing knowledge will improve after mastering recirculation, but its not plug it in and it works kind of thing, it takes some practice and a theirs quite a few things to know before getting it right

Can you expand a bit on that Ozarks pls.
Has it got to do with where you draw your mash water from how fast your flow rate is how you deliver your wort back to your tun ect ect?

I have a RIMS system and I recirculate the entire mash. I have been doing it for 6 years that way and I would never do it any other way. The flow rate will depend on the false bottom. The more surface area, the faster it can be recirculated. I use a March pump and recirculate at full volume, I'm guessing @ 1.5-2.5 gallons a minute. I have a Sabco mash tun, which is basically a converted keggle.

I'm convinced it's makes better beer than a static mash. It has better, more complete conversions, there is very little temperature stratification and the beers turn out clearer. Some have said you will extract more tannins, but that's plain B.S.

I'm not sure how you are going to control the mash temperature, but you will have to figure that out regardless of circulating or not.

one thing to remember every set up is different so just because some person says do it this way doesn't mean it will work for you, you have to go about a trial and error for a few brews, and yes like above you have to base your recirculation speed on the grain bill and your false bottom, some grains are just plain sticky and will get stuck every time, for those I use rice hulls and it works great, also you want to keep the wort above the grain bed by at least 2 inches for best saturation