Liquid Yeast Question

Edan Z

Trial Member
Reaction score
So, my first ever batch of beer is two weeks into bottle conditioning, and I'm already planning another brew day next week. For my first brew I used Safbrew BE-256 yeast, which is marketed as an Abbey type yeast. I fermented on the lower side of the temperature range (64ºF) for 10 days, then brought out to 72 for another week to make sure it was finished. Flocculation was very good, and the beer cleared perfectly.

Based on my preliminary sampling of this first batch, I am thinking to dial back the grain bill and throw in some sugar to achieve the desired alcohol level for a Belgian blonde. I'm thinking to do this because my first batch seems to be a little too intense on the palate. It is possible, however, that the intense flavor I'm sensing is actually imparted by the yeast. It's my first time doing this, so I'm having a hard time telling what it's from.

At any rate, I was also thinking I would go with a liquid yeast starter the second time around, perhaps WLP530. However, being in France, where home brewing isn't as popular as elsewhere, I'm concerned about the freshness of the liquid yeast and the shipping conditions. I've only found one French online shop that carry them, and most home brewing shops here only carry dry yeast. So my question is:

If given to choose between dry yeast, and a possibly sub-standard (older, and under refrigerated) liquid yeast, would it make more sense to go with a dry yeast (BE-256, T-58, S-33)? Or is the liquid yeast so much better that it's still the better option?

Has anyone here compared dry "Belgian" style yeasts with liquid forms? What are the main reasons why dry Belgian style yeasts are generally not recommended? Does it have anything to do with the flavor profiles of the dry yeast strains that are available?

Last edited: