Accident! Any suggestions are appreciated

Gorm

Trial Member
Reaction score
I'm new to home brewing. I started my fourth batch on October 10th. I was mixing water into my brew and knocked over my dextrose container. Bingo! Direct hit into my primary. Couldn’t do it twice if I tried. I don’t know how much dextrose actually got in there but I’m guessing about 1kg.There was some activity (fermentation) that night. It settled down to about one bubble every 10 seconds the next day. This morning it was bubbling just fine but now it has stopped completely.
This is the recipe I’m using:
4.4kg Golden Light LME
0.45 kg Crystal 15
0.14 kg Crystal 60
1.5 oz Centennial for 60 min
1.5 oz Cascade for 15 min
1 oz Centennial for 1 min
1 oz Cascade for 1 min
Safale US-05

Target OG was 1.058. I measured the OG at 1.076
Should I just start over? Can I save it? Or should I just go through the motions and see what happens?
I am thinking of adding a yeast with a higher tolerance but, would that make the final product taste yeasty?
Thanks for any advice.

Can you dilute the wort ? , dex won't add any flavour or body but will bump up the ABV .

That sort of OG will make life hard on the yeast , did you dry pitch a single sachet ?

Hi Mark,
Thanks for the reply.
Yes. I did a dry pitch with one sachet.
Would it hurt if I added something like a Belgian type yeast?
I do have a second primary I could split and dilute if necessary. But I'm not sure of the logistics. Would I just make another batch, mix the two together and pitch an extra sachet of yeast?