Where do your recipes come from?

BYO Mag is a fairly reliable source.

Curious to see what other people have to say.
Do you just go by kit instructions or recipes you've found elsewhere?
Do you tweak those existing recipes based on your knowledge / preference of ingredients?
Do you create one from scratch based on what you've read about a particular style or ingredient?

or is it somewhere in between or another option?

for me, i think it's typically the last one, but sometimes the second one. when i started brewing, i was perhaps more apt to follow a "tried and true" recipe, but that quickly fell by the wayside as i read and brewed more

These days I'll buy recipes if I want something I've never made before or that I want to be a "sure thing". However, I'm starting to experiment more, and making my own recipes based on research.

So for me, right now it's about 50/50 canned recipes vs. my own recipes.

I get a lot of my recipes from Brew and Zymurgy magazines. I usually brew them once with the recipe and then tweak them as time goes on.

I usually brew them once with the recipe and then tweak them as time goes on.
That begs the question. How often do people completely morph a recipe, but just a tweak at a time, until it's nothing like what it started as?

That begs the question. How often do people completely morph a recipe, but just a tweak at a time, until it's nothing like what it started as?
And how much of it is out of necessity with the lhbs being out of stock of something or because of that brewer's knowledge for what they like and can make work?
Wheels within wheels man :rolleyes:

I lack both the knowledge and experience to stray to far , but I'm not afraid to tinker a bit, and since I grew up drinking my parents PBR's and Shmidts.
If I screw it up I do have an uncanny ability to swill down some pretty crappy suds.. o_O