Where do your recipes come from?

jmcnamara

Premium Member
Established Member
Reaction score
Curious to see what other people have to say.
Do you just go by kit instructions or recipes you've found elsewhere?
Do you tweak those existing recipes based on your knowledge / preference of ingredients?
Do you create one from scratch based on what you've read about a particular style or ingredient?

or is it somewhere in between or another option?

for me, i think it's typically the last one, but sometimes the second one. when i started brewing, i was perhaps more apt to follow a "tried and true" recipe, but that quickly fell by the wayside as i read and brewed more

I've brewed extract kits for 18 years. I've done my best to convert those kits to BIAB. Any listed steeping grains go right into my mash. And what I believe are the extract conversion grains, which may even be more of some of the steeping grains. Same yeast is a no brainer. Hops are a bit different. I like 6.5 gallons when my boil is done. That's what I find gets me 5 gallons packaged. Since I have a greater volume than the kit is designed for, my IBUs go down. I make up for that by turning a 5 minute hope into a 10 minute hop, etc.

I've brewed extract kits for 18 years. I've done my best to convert those kits to BIAB. Any listed steeping grains go right into my mash. And what I believe are the extract conversion grains, which may even be more of some of the steeping grains. Same yeast is a no brainer. Hops are a bit different. I like 6.5 gallons when my boil is done. That's what I find gets me 5 gallons packaged. Since I have a greater volume than the kit is designed for, my IBUs go down. I make up for that by turning a 5 minute hope into a 10 minute hop, etc.

sounds like you lean towards the second option then?

They're only tweaked for conversion to all grain and higher volume. I would not have much confidence (or even desire) to develop my own grain bills and hop choices. Yeah, put me down for B.