Vanilla Stout

Stephen P

Trial Member
Reaction score
I'm brewing ten gallons of a American Stout this weekend. I was thinking of putting vanilla bean in half of the batch. Not sure how many pods I should put into 5 gallons. Any suggestions?

I am by no means an expert on this but I have been reading alot about additions and vanilla in particular, it seems that 2-3 beans cut and scraped soaked in 4oz of bourbon or vodka for a couple of weeks and adding the strained liquid to your secondary for a few days would do it

Hope this helps i have not tried it myself yet though

Good luck and let me know how it turns out

I am by no means an expert on this but I have been reading alot about additions and vanilla in particular, it seems that 2-3 beans cut and scraped soaked in 4oz of bourbon or vodka for a couple of weeks and adding the strained liquid to your secondary for a few days would do it

Hope this helps i have not tried it myself yet though

Good luck and let me know how it turns out
Thanks it sounds like a good starting point.

I still haven't used it yet, but several months ago I put 2 whole beans, scraped and cut, into some regular table sugar. mixed it around every once in a while. it smells amazing and can't wait to try priming with it

Reactions: GPA
I just brewed Stikks vanilla cream ale. It called for vanilla extract in last 10 mins and 3 pods soaked in a cup of vodka. Now it's on its second week in the keg ATM I've had one tasting last week 5 days in and it had a lovely vanilla aroma on the nose but as it was quite a blonde brew the vodka came through on the Finnish a bit. But with a darker base I'm sure it'd blend in better. I'm sure after a little time mines gunna mellow a bit. I'll be shore to post a pic when I think she's ready for the public eye:rolleyes:.