Black IPA/Hoppy Stout/Cascadian Dark Ale/Whateveryoucallit

Matic

Trial Member
Reaction score
Whatever you want to call it, I love the style. I made an extract version of this a while ago which was awesome and I think I recall that the hop bill was very close to this one (but this was when I started brewing and I cant find any notes but I remember that I used 6 types of hops). I'm hooked on brewing all grain now, so I want to perfect an all grain recipe for the style. Any suggestions on the below?

Title: Monday Monday Black IPA
Author: Shane

Brew Method: All Grain
Style Name: Specialty IPA: Black IPA
Boil Time: 60 min
Batch Size: 5.5 gallons (fermentor volume)
Boil Size: 7.5 gallons
Boil Gravity: 1.062
Efficiency: 65% (brew house)

STATS:
Original Gravity: 1.084
Final Gravity: 1.021
ABV (standard): 8.3%
IBU (tinseth): 88.98
SRM (daniels): 40

FERMENTABLES:
1 lb - Flaked Oats (5.3%)
12 lb - American - Pale 2-Row (63.2%)
1 lb - German - Carafa III (5.3%)
1 lb - Corn Sugar - Dextrose (5.3%)
1 lb - American - Midnight Wheat Malt (5.3%)
2 lb - American - Caramel / Crystal 60L (10.5%)
1 lb - American - Roasted Barley (5.3%)

HOPS:
1 oz - Magnum, Type: Pellet, AA: 15, Use: Boil for 45 min, IBU: 42.77
1 oz - Columbus, Type: Pellet, AA: 15, Use: Boil for 30 min, IBU: 35.81
1 oz - Perle, Type: Pellet, AA: 8.2, Use: Boil for 5 min, IBU: 5.08
1 oz - Cascade, Type: Pellet, AA: 7, Use: Dry Hop for 7 days
2 oz - Citra, Type: Pellet, AA: 11, Use: Dry Hop for 7 days
1 oz - Amarillo, Type: Pellet, AA: 8.6, Use: Boil for 5 min, IBU: 5.33

YEAST:
Wyeast - American Ale 1056
Starter: No
Form: Liquid
Attenuation (avg): 75%
Flocculation: Med-Low
Optimum Temp: 60 - 72 F

Personally, i hate using Caramel in my hoppy beers. Caramel just gets in the way in my opinion. That's a lot of caramel going in there, and a lot of roasted barley for that matter. It could still be good, let us know how it turns out.